Story of Bayazid al Bustami and his mother

bismillah1114444

The following is a story of great saint of Islam, Bayazid al Bastami (q.s)

What I was searching to find in my purification, mortification, striving and servitude, I found in serving my mother. One night my mother woke up and asked me for a glass of water. I hurried to bring her some water. I searched around the house and there was no water in the container nor in the bucket. It was a cold night. I went outside to the spring to get some water. When I came back my mother was asleep. So I stayed beside her bed with the glass of water. Near dawn she woke up and upon hearing my story she took the water, drank it, and prayed for me. In that moment, I found what my heart was looking for.

Leave a Reply

