Promoting peace and reconciliation

bismillah1114444

The following  Divine saying is taken from Ibn Arabi’s1  (r.a) Miskat al-Anwar.

Anas [ibn Malik]2 (r.a) said:
One day when the Messenger of God Muhammad (s.a.w), was seated [amongst us], we saw him laugh and laugh until his teeth were showing. Umar3 (r.a) asked: “What makes you laugh, O Messenger of God, you for whom I would give my own father and mother?” He replied: “Two men of my community were kneeling before the Lord of Might, ever exalted is He, and one of them said: ‘O my Lord, retrieve for me what my brother has wrongfully taken from me!’

Lord said [to the accused]: ‘Give back to your brother what you have wrongfully taken from him.’

‘But my Lord,’ accused replied, ‘nothing of merit has been left to me.’ ‘Then my Lord,’ said [the plaintiff], ‘let him carry some of my burden.’ ”

  The eyes of the Messenger of God (s.a.w), filled with tears, and he said: “Indeed that is a fearful day, when people will need someone to carry part of their burden.” Then he continued:

“And God, ever mighty and majestic is He, said to the plaintiff: ‘Raise your head and look towards the Gardens of Paradise.’He raised his eyes and exclaimed: ‘My Lord, I see cities of silver and palaces of gold, crowned with pearls. To which prophet or martyr does it belong?’

God replied: ‘It belongs to whoever pays Me the price.’ He asked: ‘And who, my Lord, will own it?’
God replied: ‘You will.’
He asked: ‘But how shall I do that, my Lord?’
God replied: ‘By pardoning your brother.’
He said: ‘My Lord, I have already pardoned him!’
God, ever exalted is He, said: ‘Now take your brother by the hand, and lead him into Paradise.’ ”

Then the Messenger of God added:

“Fear God, and promote peace and reconciliation amongst yourselves, for surely God shall establish peace among the faithful on the Day of Resurrection.”


1- Muhyiddin ibn Arabi  (1165-1240 C.E) was an Arab Andalusian Sufi mystic and philosopher. He is renowned by  practitioners of Sufism as “the greatest master” and also as a genuine saint.
2-Anas bin Maalik (612-712 C.E, or died 709 C.E) was a well-known sahabi (companion) of the prophet Muhammad
3- Umar bin al Khattab (579 CE–3 November 644 CE), was one of the most powerful and influential Muslim caliphs in history. He was a Sahabi (companion) of the prophet Muhammad , and  he succeeded Abu Bakr as the second caliph of the Rashidun Caliphate.
Leave a Reply

